Oklahoma Direct Shipping Update
November 9, 2016
By Kristin Carlton, Vice President of Compliance
Oklahoma residents voted to update state liquor laws and that includes allowing direct shipping. Effective October 1, 2018, wineries can ship to Oklahoma consumers.
- Wineries in Oklahoma or another state could purchase a direct wine shipper’s permit ($300 for an original permit, $150 for a renewal) allowing them to ship up to six nine-liter cases of wine – the equivalent of 72 750ml bottles – per year to an Oklahoma resident. The shipped wine, however, could not be one that is already available in an Oklahoma store.
- A consumer who is at least 21 could order for shipment up to 30 nine-liter cases – the equivalent of 360 bottles – per year. However, consumers would have to obtain a direct wine consumer permit from the ABLE commission. SB 383 does not set a price for the consumer permit. Instead, it instructs ABLE to set up rules governing the issuance of the permits.
To learn more about Oklahoma State Question #792, visit: http://oklahomawatch.org/2016/10/06/qa-on-state-question-792-the-alcohol-measure/.
Please feel free to contact Compli at 805.239.4502 or email@example.com if you have any questions or if we can assist you with obtaining a new license.